PDA

View Full Version : 10mm WNGC too hard or too soft

cadjak
10-02-2012, 05:01 PM
I managed to limp wrist my 10mm Glock and had a 200gr WNGC nose dive and stick part way, into the chamber. When I pushed the cartridge out with a wooden dowel, this is what it looked like. I have abused a lot of cast lead bullets, but this one seemed to deform more easily than others. I am a true cast lead novice. From looking at the bullet would you say, 1.) "well that sort stuff happens when you do that, nothing strange about it", 2.)"This bullet might be cast too hard and it's brittle", 3.)"this bullet is too soft." ?
Thanks,
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v232/cadjak/Misc%20Firearms/10mm%20guns%20and%20ammo/photobucket-30932-1349209469438.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v232/cadjak/Misc%20Firearms/10mm%20guns%20and%20ammo/photobucket-35359-1349209655408.jpg

KYCaster
10-02-2012, 05:32 PM
That boolit was cast in a cold mold.

Its appearance has nothing to do with anything that happened to it after it left the mold.

Jerry

theperfessor
10-02-2012, 05:35 PM
Yep, cold mold syndrome.

cadjak
10-02-2012, 05:40 PM
The bullet was smooth and unmarred before it hit the barrel. It's appearance was changed by the event. Do you mean that being cast in a cold mold contributed to this happening, or did you mean that you believe it looked like this before anything happened. In that case, I would have noticed it's distorted appearance. This was a factory load from Doubletap.

MusicMan
10-02-2012, 07:47 PM
Send it back to Doubletap! They cast it in a cold mold.

theperfessor
10-02-2012, 07:51 PM
Got any pictures of an unfired round? it's hard to believe that happened during chambering. Not sure what it would take to make that happen. Did you look at this particular round before loading? Maybe it was a badly cast bullet that contributed to the misfeed and not the other way around.