PDA

View Full Version : Bear Creek cast/moly coated

opos
10-01-2012, 07:26 PM
I ran across a fair sized quantity of 44 cal Bear Creek .430 moly lubed projectiles in various weights...I understand Bear Creek is not around any longer and just wondered if any of you can answer a few questions...First any feedback on the general quality of them? These are a bit older and have been stored for a while...In general terms is the moly coating decent to use (I'm fairly new to cast boolit shooting exept for about 3000 total Missouri and have had good results...and finally the guy that has them has no idea about the hardness of the Bear Creek 44's...

I like to shoot mild 44 special and mild 44 magnum loads....not set up to do any additional lubing so if a moly coated boolit needs extra lube I don't want to mess with them or if they are noted for having problems I'd probably pass...

Many thanks for any help on this one..
opos

Whiterabbit
10-01-2012, 07:54 PM
bear creek is doing just fine. I'll let others commend on shooting moly. It's worked just fine for me the few times I've shot moly. I find the secret to moly is not to worry that it's in your barrel. Cause it basically (basically) never comes out.

Inkman
10-01-2012, 09:00 PM
Bear Creek is delivering 5000 lbs of molys to my buddys house tomorrow after a group buy him and a bunch of buddys did, so they're doing just fine.

As far as loads go, i know folks who shoot them in all manner of calibers and guns from full power to powder puff loads. They all get zero leading but their barrels do need vigouous cleaning to get the moly out. They guys who never clean their barrels till the 5 thousand rd mark still have no accuracy problems either.

Hope that helps.

Al

williamwaco
10-01-2012, 09:43 PM
They all get zero leading but their barrels do need vigouous cleaning to get the moly out. They guys who never clean their barrels till the 5 thousand rd mark still have no accuracy problems either.

Al