PDA

View Full Version : Health and safety gone mad.

JeffinNZ
09-30-2012, 11:17 PM
Team.

I work in the forwarding industry; both air and sea. A regular client moves a lot of tin with me (YES, I know, I can't get any). At the weekend we flew 1005kg across from AU. When it arrived the airline took and hour and half to remove the ULD (the aluminum unit load device) from the plane as the base had buckled under the weight. I have another shipment flying tomorrow so instructed the Ozzies that they most use spread boards under the skid of tin to distribute the weight evenly. This is what came back:

"It’s very hard for use to use spreader board as the OH+S manager (for Aus & NZ) has taken away all saws from the warehouse as our storeman aren’t allowed to use them as they aren’t “qualified” to use them. Apparently they need to do a course to learn to use a saw and became qualified to use one (even though they use them all the time outside of work). So we can’t cut the spreader board we have or anything else, you can imagine how hard this is making it for us to wing our pallets and load units properly."

How is that for madness? Move the H&S issue down the line.

bruce drake
09-30-2012, 11:22 PM
It happens when Unions run amuck...

bearcove
09-30-2012, 11:30 PM

Not the union but the customer, we hate the BS

SciFiJim
10-01-2012, 12:35 AM

Actually, it is probably lawyers run amuck. Someone probably got sued because an employee was injured using a saw and lawyer found that formal training on the proper use and care of the saw (with 16 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of field training as well as continuing yearly instructional updates) was not conducted.

Jeff, tell them that if need be, they need to order the boards pre-cut from someone, but that you need them to spread out the load.

smokeywolf
10-01-2012, 12:56 AM
The unions don't make or enforce the H & S codes or rules. Here in Kali. that's OSHA, CAL OSHA, and the company's industrial safety dept.