PDA

View Full Version : Firearms industry career advice

historicfirearms
09-29-2012, 01:44 PM
I earned a BS in mechanical engineering in the late 90's. While in college I had a friend who was a flight instructor and he got me interested in flying. After I graduated I went on to get a commercial pilot license and have been trying to make a living in aviation since then. It has not been an easy path to follow, the industry is very cut-throat and cyclical. Pay is poor and home life suffers from all the time away. Lately I have been wishing I would have just stuck with engineering as a career. I have been out of college for 12 years and have no engineering experience in that time, so it would be almost impossible for me to get a job as an engineer right now. I applied, and got accepted to an engineering graduate program, but now I am trying to figure out if the $30K plus cost will be worth it.

I would really love to get a job in the firearms industry as an engineer. Is anyone here an engineer with a firearms related career? Any advice you would give to someone wanting to get into the industry? I'm interested in a stable, well paying career to provide for my two young kids.

Doc Highwall
09-29-2012, 04:00 PM
A friend of mine worked for Marlin as an engineer and it was keeping him busy.
Then Remington bought them and installed computers that told them what the production rate was, and every time it slowed down they would call from N.Y., and ask what the problem was. They had it timed down to the second as to how long it took to make a gun.

When Marlin moved down south he refused to go and retired instead. Too much B.S. he said.

Years ago 1975 I worked for Dan Wesson Arms and was in charge of the bluing room and it was a fast paced work environment back then, and has not changed one bit at all. Work like a robot except your parts is not easily replaced.

felix
09-29-2012, 04:37 PM