PDA

View Full Version : Here's another "dross" question

Whitespider
05-26-2007, 10:29 PM
On this board I’ve read a lot about “dross”. Being a newbie, I first thought “dross” was the gray ash like stuff that formed after fluxing. But, I’ve come to understand that “dross” is any and all stuff we skim from the top of the melt.

As I’m casting (I use a dipper) a “skin” forms on the top of the melt, I keep pushing it to the side of the pot. This “skin” builds up into a “glob”, I can push it down into the pot but it doesn’t melt back in. Every so often I stop and add sprues and rejects, flux and skim off this hard “glob” of built up “skin”.

On this board I’ve read a lot of opinions about what this stuff consists of. The consensus seems to be that it’s oxidized metal, some say mostly tin, others say antimony, and still others say lead/tin/antimony.

I’ve been saving this “dross”, had about two pounds of this lava looking stuff. Today I threw it in a small saucepan and put it on the old electric stove I use as a heat source. Set the burner on high and hit the top of the stuff with a propane torch. At first I didn’t think it was gonna’ melt, but it did melt. I fluxed it, and got a nice silvery pool of molten metal. This stuff acted just like my WW metal, after a couple moments the “skin” started to form, I could push it to the side, etc., etc...

So what’s my question?
If I can melt it down like I did today, why won’t this stuff melt back into the pot when I’m casting?

monadnock#5
05-26-2007, 10:40 PM
If you had a special spoon type tool, and the patience of a saint, you could very carefully skim and remove just the powdery stuff. But, the melt is hot, the mold is hot, and you just don't want to take the time, so you end up with more lead than powder. Sound familiar?

Not to worry. Someone on this board had a great idea not very long ago. Save that dross, and the next time you smelt, dump it in with the rest of the stuff. I can't to try it myself.

Ken

WHITETAIL