PDA

View Full Version : cast boolits weight tolerances?

7.62tackdriver
05-23-2007, 01:12 PM
I'm a rank newbie to the CB ranks, Have some good experience with .45ACP and cast boolits reloading and want to try the CB in my militatry rifles. What is a reasonable expectation for weight variation with cast bullets? I have purchased different calibers from different sources and see a great variety of weights, i.e. up to 8 grains of difference for the same batch of bullets. Is that normal? Can some of you veterans give me an idea of what is a standard deviation for cast boolits?
Thanks for your help!

454PB
05-23-2007, 01:23 PM
After spending countless hours sorting boolits by weight, I finally came to the conclusion that a good visual inspection is all that is needed. What I did learn is that my non-reject boolits weigh within 1% of the norm. For a typical .30 caliber rifle boolit of 180 grs., thats 2 grs. of variation. Pay close attention to the boolit bases, that is the most likely spot for a flaw that will affect weight and uniformity, and is the easiest flaw to miss during the inspection.

An interesting experiment is to use some reject boolits and compare groups and POI with acceptable ones. There is surprisingly little difference.

felix
05-23-2007, 01:31 PM
That is correct for all play and most hunting guns. For competition, the air bubbles get you fairly consistently, and depending on where the bubbles are amounts to what your grouping accuracy will be. If the bubbles are mostly centered, then OK for all circumstances, but the problem remains to decipher where the bubbles are. If they are more towards the edges, the grouping accuracy will wane more severely. The only practical measure is to shoot that batch after holding the weight variation to less than 0.25 percent for a BR match. ... felix

7.62tackdriver
05-23-2007, 03:35 PM