PDA

View Full Version : ok, so I have a question....

Captain_Howdy
09-13-2012, 08:19 PM
Here is my question...but first forgive me for I am new and I have also been enjoying a few more beers than possibly needed...background first then the questions.

Firstly, maybe I am overthinking this all, but I am an aircraft mechanic, old school crew cheif, Air Force trained... C141 guy... anyways...

I started this all with a lee tumble lube mold... a few actually, but the one stirring the pot is the 9mm mold. Anyway my mold drops boolits anywhere from .358-.360 depending on the measurement location...no big deal, I can handle this regardless of Lee's claim to mold and go...my barrel slugged at .355 on the Taraus PT92AF anyway. So I decided to wait before loading and ordered the Lee sizer at .356. I just got through running roughly 300 boolits through the sizer and I was thinking...maybe the beer is driving me mad, but I was still thinking...

If the driving/lube bands are sized in a manner that is not in longitudinal alignment with the bullet ogive...which I must think that they are due to the fact there is an obvious degree of more material affected on one side than the other...would this misalignment, or coencentricity, induce wobble and inaccuracy as the bullet rotates across its longitudinal axis as it leaves the barrel?

I do not know if I am getting my idea across...but it seems like the Lee sizing die is centering the cast boolit on the bands and thereby sizing on the bands disregarding the gyroscopic mass of the boolit and the boolit's centerline on the ogive... is anyone following me? Or am I pissing up a pole facing into the wind?