PDA

View Full Version : Pewter Help please!!!

woody13
09-04-2012, 01:48 PM
Ok I am still learning so I ask. When out looking for lead at the swap meets what else can I look for. Like pewter how is that good? Is it all able to mold? Is it like you look for the beer mugs? What? Any help I can get while out looking is knowledge I would love to have so any advice please. I saw some mugs but did not take them because I was unsure to really what they were. Also is there a way to tell.....

454PB
09-04-2012, 01:58 PM
Pewter is mostly tin, which is expensive and is valuable as an addition to boolit alloy for the "fluidity" it adds. However, you shouldn't use it straight for casting.

bumpo628
09-04-2012, 02:00 PM
You want to look for hallmarked items that clearly say "pewter".
Take a look at this thread to get you going: http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=127929

When you use it to alloy with your lead, treat it like pure tin. A little goes a long way (1% to 2% will work for most cases).

woody13
09-04-2012, 02:27 PM
Thanks guys but also when you melt lead and do you just drop a small amount in and it mixes in or what. I know its all about hardness but its still a learning curve to me....

454PB
09-04-2012, 10:48 PM
Hardening an alloy with tin works, but not very well. Antimony is the what adds inexpensive hardness to a lead alloy. Tin melts at a lower temperature than lead, so I melt the lead (or lead alloy), then drop the tin into the mix and flux the mixture.

Most of us casters use somewhere between 2% to 5% tin in the mix, but if you're going "old school", you may want to go as high as 10% tin to pure lead. Any higher percentage of tin and you'll end up with a soldering effect.

woody13
09-05-2012, 02:32 AM
Thanks a lot guys this helps me move forward a lot and I will keep eyes open for pewter now to add to my range lead....

GT27
09-05-2012, 05:34 PM