PDA

View Full Version : Lubing and bevel base boolits

happyhunter
08-28-2012, 10:24 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie. Been looking at some molds that are not plain base. I have heard you will get lube around the base of a bevel base boolit when you run it thru the lubrisizer. It makes sense this would happen. Is it really bad? Is there a way to prevent it from happening if it is bad?

I am thinking the lube could affect the powder and keep it from going bang. (The Scariest sound is click when you want bang.)

Thanks,
HH

blikseme300
08-28-2012, 10:57 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie. Been looking at some molds that are not plain base. I have heard you will get lube around the base of a bevel base boolit when you run it thru the lubrisizer. It makes sense this would happen. Is it really bad? Is there a way to prevent it from happening if it is bad?

I am thinking the lube could affect the powder and keep it from going bang. (The Scariest sound is click when you want bang.)

Thanks,
HH

Depends which sizer. No such issues when using a Star sizer. Some have tricks to make the down-up sizers work without the base from getting lubed, but I have never tried this. Lube can contaminate the powder so be careful.

Bliksem
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Le Loup Solitaire
08-28-2012, 11:32 PM