PDA

View Full Version : New to the site, but not to Black Powder

Smithy
08-26-2012, 06:04 AM
As the title suggests, I'm a newbie to this site, but not to black powder, nor firearms. Although I grew up in a firearm void household I had my share of slingshots, bb guns, and a bow and arrow set up once. As soon as I turned 18 I bought my first long arm (a Winchester model 37a), then as soon as I turned 21 I bought two handguns, a Ruger Security Six 357 and a Ruger Redhawk in 44 mag. It's been downhill ever since. I've gone through fazes with firearms and had a quite lengthy one involving black powder. I've owned a number of dragoon copies and my longarms all seemed to be 58 caliber. During this time I of course was dirt poor, I relied on picking the target area for lead to melt and cast my own. Later on I moved up to Old Armies and actually started SASS with a pair converted to 45LC and shooting black. I shot in the Frontier Cartridge class and had a blast as short a run as it was.

I got invited to this site by ClassicCannons in his poll to start a Cannon and Mortar section here. That's where my current interests lie as I don't get to shoot near as often as I'd like with 35 years of diabetes taking their toll. So I can buy and build various cannons and mortars, having fun in their creation and collection without having to shoot, but come my birthday (fourth of July), they can hear me all across the county. ClassicCannons is currently making me a Thunder Mug with a golf ball bore and Heavy Duty construction. I asked for a stainless one, but I think I'm going to end up with steel as acquiring the necessary stainless seems to present a problem.