PDA

View Full Version : Double pour..?

Kimall
08-12-2012, 04:30 AM
I am very new to casting only having just learnt but I have been thinking a lot about it since that first day.For a hunting bullet to be shot at subsonic speed could you cast some pure lead bullets of the right size and cut them in half putting the front half back in the mould and pour a harder alloy in to make up the back half of the boolit.Or just make them soft to start or try and find a hollw point mould?
Cheers KIM

41mag
08-12-2012, 06:31 AM
There have been several topics of this nature since I have been around, but this one seems to be about the most indepth,

Casting Softnose Bullets From ANY Conventional Moulds (http://www.castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=17546&highlight=pouring+soft+nose)

It's a good read and should provide you with what your after.

sw282
08-12-2012, 07:52 AM
l remember years ago Lyman made molds for 2 piece bullets. Nose was cast of pure lead. A mold for the base cast of harder alloy. Then you glued front/rear using Lyman special glue. l dont know how well they performed. l have seen the molds on ebay. Either the one for base or nose is offered,but never together.

Kimall
08-12-2012, 08:29 AM
Thanks for that just what I was after.
Cheers KIM

wmitty
08-12-2012, 09:04 PM
I think you will find it a lot easier to heat treat an alloy simililar to wheel weights and then soften the boolet noses by standing them in water to the depth desired to keep hard and annealing the exposed portion within the heat treat oven. Heat treating is not difficult to perform and is very effective in increasing alloy hardness.

btroj
08-12-2012, 10:10 PM
41 mag posted the link to the best method. BruceB has a method that just plain works. I have also used many little dippers made from pistol cases and a small pot of pure lead for noses too.

Doesn't take long to make enough to last more than a few hunting seasons.

1Shirt
08-12-2012, 10:12 PM
Yep, go with Bruce B! Slow but effective!