PDA

View Full Version : 45 acp alloy

turmech
08-10-2012, 07:22 AM
Up until now I have been casting for my 1911 with COWW. I know I don't need them that hard for the 45 acp but it was what I had.

Flash forward to now and I have way more soft lead than COWW. My question is to does anyone have experience mixing 3 part soft to 1 part COWW. I read that 50/50 is pretty standard mix.

I am shooting the 230 grain lee TC non tumble lube version. Lubed with TAC#1, sized 452, over 5.8 gr unique.

Wayne Smith
08-10-2012, 07:49 AM
I'm trying to figure out the "COWW". Wheel weights are so inconsistent now that it's a guess how much tin and antimony you will have when you drop to 1/3. Even with straight ww some add tin. I'd guess you may have problems with fill out dropping to 1/3 without adding tin.

With a moderate load and a good fitting boolit and good lube you can shoot pure lead, so shooting it won't be the issue.

Larry Gibson
08-10-2012, 07:55 AM
Add 2 % tin to the COWWs. Then add 20% lead and cast 25-50 for testing. Increase the lead to 30 % and cast another 25-50 for testing. Icrease the lead to 40% etc. until you find a 5 lead to the COWWs that is too soft for best performance in your .45s. Then go back to the previous % and that is as soft as you'll want to go with the COWWs and lead you have. The tin will make a better balanced alloy with the COWWs to begin with so don't skip it.

Larry Gibson

turmech
08-10-2012, 08:10 AM
I should have mentioned I add 1.5% tin to all my bullets. I do it in the casting pot in the form of 50/50 solder. Well I should say I use 1/2 ounce to ingot (ingots are basically one pound). I think my math is right and it colse to 1.5% added.

Grandpas50AE
08-10-2012, 08:23 AM