PDA

View Full Version : Reclaimed Lead Shot

82ndMedic
07-11-2012, 02:55 PM
Hi all,
Im new to casting and to the castboolits website and i have a question. I work as a rangemaster in my time off from the Army at a local sporting clays range, and recently have been going around picking up and sifting lead shot from our range for use in casting. I Currently have about 70# of it in a 5 gal bucket after i cast about 1400 rounds to start with. That being said, the boolits fired OK and actually put up some decent groups, but im wondering what the BHN of this shot would be after cast into boolits and water dropped. Anyone with any insight would be greatly appreciated. Note, I am not adding ANYTHING to the mixture like solder etc..

I love the fact that my .45ACP now only costs me $.06 a shot to load and just want to see where i can make improvements.

guidogoose
07-11-2012, 03:32 PM
According to Bump628's calculator

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=105952

Chilled shot has a BHN of 10. Water dropping would harden them. How much, I don't know. I don't water drop my castings. Hopefully, someone here with more experience in this area, will help you.

leadman
07-11-2012, 09:36 PM
Reclaimed lead shot makes excellent boolits. Sometimes a little tin (1/2 to 1%) will aid fill-out in a mold like a SWC. With the molds like the Lee 158gr RFN it works great as is.
The only issue is smelting a large quantity of it. I found if I started with the bottom of the cast iron pot covered about 1/2" deep and smashed any corroded shot that did not want to melt with a ladle or big spoon, removed the dross and added about the same amount of shot again and repeated it went well. The graphite coating also inhibits melting some also.
The first time I loaded up the pot and it took forever to get it to all melt.
A much cleaner alloy than WW once the corrosion is removed. No nasty smoke either.

paul h
07-11-2012, 09:49 PM