PDA

View Full Version : How close to the spout to hold the mold

greenjoytj
07-05-2012, 11:51 AM
I'm new to the bottom pour furnace method of filling the mold.
I cast some .535" round balls using a Lee double cavity mould and a new Lee Pro 4-20 bottom pour furnace.
All my cast balls look perfect but weighed a few grains less than the expected 230 grs.
I cut some of the balls in half and found a air bubble the size of a rice grain in each ball.
I was pressing the mold inlet tight against the spigot onthe bottom of the furnace.
Is the the wrong way to fill the mold with a bottom pour furnace?

bradh
07-05-2012, 12:04 PM
I hold about one inch below the spout just because I don't like a large sprue....just the way
I've always done it.

mdi
07-05-2012, 01:43 PM
I've found distance may vary from mold to spout. Different molds may like different distances from the spout. I have one mold that likes the sprue plate in contact with the spout, but most of my molds work well with 1/2"-3/4". Some molds like the pour right down the middle and some like the mold tilted or the flow just hitting the sprue hole. Boils down to what works best for you and your molds...

dragonrider
07-05-2012, 04:24 PM
1/2" to 3/4" depends on how tall the mold is. I never change the position of the mold rest.

fredj338
07-05-2012, 05:00 PM
Depends on the mold, but hand casting, I have best results "pressure" casting with the spout tight to the spru plate. For smaller bullets & HP, it gives me more uniform results.

Mk42gunner
07-05-2012, 05:14 PM
I've found distance may vary from mold to spout. Different molds may like different distances from the spout. I have one mold that likes the sprue plate in contact with the spout, but most of my molds work well with 1/2"-3/4". Some molds like the pour right down the middle and some like the mold tilted or the flow just hitting the sprue hole. Boils down to what works best for you and your molds...

This sounds like I could have written it.