PDA

View Full Version : I need help with my lead 9mm loads

greyling22
06-24-2012, 09:23 PM
So I've been fighting with my 9mm for a couple years now and decided I would toss this before the experts. I'm just about out of ideas. I've been reloading with lead for 45, 357 and 30 carbine without issue, but 9 is key-holing and leading a lot.

gun: 9mm witness elite match. I slugged the bore and as I rotated the bullet through the calipers, the bore slugged out at .355 except for one part that was .356. (that might have been an error on my part though. it was my first bore slugging)

Mold: lee 124 grn 6 cavity mold that is dropping .358 very consistently.

lead: wheel weights with just a tad of linotype tossed in. I've got a lee hardness tester on the way.

Lube: lee alox tumble lube. coated pretty well.

Powders: At one time or another I've tried V3n37, red dot, #5, hs-6, titegroup, w231, n320. 3n37 seemed to give the best results in terms of accuracy and keyholing.

I clean the barrel out between different loads. I test in batches of 20. I started out at recommended loads and have gradually been working down in power.

My most recent, and lowest power loads yet were:
2.9grn of titegroup (925fps on the chrono) - leading and 2 keyhole out of 20
3.4grn of w231 (950 fpson chrono) - leading and 3 KH out of 20
5.25grn HS-6 (1025 on the chrono) - leading and 3 KH out of 20

Leading was fairly evenly distributed along the whole length of the barrel. They all cycled the action, but I can't go much lighter and still retain function.

Thinking maybe I was using a light load under too hard a bullet and failing to get obduration, I tried 3.7grn titegroup with a 80% lead 20% wheel weight and got 10 out of 10 keyhole. 3.7grn using a 50/50 gave me 4 of 10 keyhole.

I tried some .356 purchased lead bullets (advertised BHN 15) that did not keyhole, nor lead as much, but still left noticeable leading after 20 rounds of each:
3.8 grn titegroup
4grn w231
5.6grn HS-6
5.5grn #5