PDA

View Full Version : Sponsor a newbie!

Sweetpea
06-24-2012, 02:13 PM
No, I am not looking for money, Just some quality information. I am quite new to casting, and seem to have a problem. I am alternating between two molds, one a RCBS 41-210-swc, and the other a Lee 41-240-swc. The boolits fall right out of the Lee, which is nice, but I start getting serious flash. The RCBS gives perfect boolits but they seem to stick... maybe I need to kroil it?

My real question is with the Lee mold. Does the aluminum just get too hot and warp? It seems that if I cast 1 set in the Lee to 2 sets in the RCBS, I do not have this problem.

I am pretty sure I am right, but I have been pretty sure about things before... Thanks for any help!

Stick_man
06-24-2012, 02:38 PM
Sweetpea, first off, welcome to the forum. You came to the right place for getting all your casting questions answered. There is a wealth of knowledge on this board that cannot be matched anywhere else, and it is freely shared with others. There are a lot of answers already posted to questions you may not have even thought of yet.

Sounds like your Lee mold is definitely getting too hot. Depending on your alloy, you may be able to turn your pot temp down a little to help some. Also, you may be trying to cast too quickly.

The RCBS mold may not be hot enough. It takes a while longer for the iron and brass molds to get up to proper casting temp. Once they do, the boolits are likely to fall easier from the cavities.

Chicken Thief
06-24-2012, 02:42 PM
Boolits will "stick" more or less with low mould temp.
Alu will absorb heat way faster than iron, ie. heat up faster.
If your Lee starts finning it is getting good and hot or you are "forcing" lead into it. I see it when i put the sprout directly onto a good hot mould and pour. Colder lead has higher surface tension and will not fin, same with a cooler mould.

Generally if you can warp an alu mould you are super careless.
It is rarely heard of at all!