PDA

View Full Version : We need RAIN

jcwit
06-23-2012, 08:46 PM
Wife and went for a short drive here in Northern Central Indiana, Elkhart County to be exact. Its so dry that the corn not only is curling but now dying. This is plants approx 3 feet high and of course not in tossle yet.

Watch for the price for corn flakes to skyrocket.

Dang its Rain not RATN

Three-Fifty-Seven
06-23-2012, 08:48 PM
Jan 1!

jcwit
06-23-2012, 08:50 PM
I'm sure Benz, but these are acres and acres of field corn and not all farmers have irrigation systems.

oneokie
06-23-2012, 08:56 PM
Dang its Rain not RATN

That can be corrected if you ask ;)

OneSkinnyMass
06-23-2012, 09:09 PM
Back in the late 70's I worked as a farmhand in central Illinois on a 2800 acre farm. One of the main things I remember is how spotty the rain would be, some fields would curl and others would be to wet to work. Same good rich loamy soil and flat as a pancake but scattered over a 4 or 5 mile area.
Now those weren't real dry years like some places have been having for a while now but even good years, farming is an educated guess and a gamble at best.

Skinny

GabbyM
06-23-2012, 11:52 PM
Heard from a farmer in Southern Illinois today. Over by Shawnee Town there corn is'nt going to make it. Knee high and tassleing with no rain. Ours here in the middle of the state is doing well. We do need some rain.

Plate plinker
06-24-2012, 12:25 AM
Wife and went for a short drive here in Northern Central Indiana, Elkhart County to be exact. Its so dry that the corn not only is curling but now dying. This is plants approx 3 feet high and of course not in tossle yet.

Watch for the price for corn flakes to skyrocket.

Dang its Rain not RATN

Ehh hmmm I am here too. It is getting desperate. If it ain't irrigated it ain't gonna make it. Maybe get silage at best. But they had four tenths the other day near Emma if you know where that is.

jcwit
06-24-2012, 12:58 AM