PDA

View Full Version : Slow learner

gasboffer
04-23-2007, 10:09 PM
I've been loading for rifles for about 52 years and have had some success with producing accurate loads in bottle-neck cases. I learned early on that an accurate load requires a relatively snug fit of the cartridge case in the chamber.
I recently acquired an EMF in .357 mag. Accuracy ran from pretty good to mediocre with all loads tried, and I tried a bunch! With cast bullets, I was getting leading in about the first inch of the barrel, but just on the bottom half of the bore.
Then, a vision came to me! I measured the fired cases, .357 mag., came out at .376". Cases sized in a carbide sizing die measured .371. Cases sized in a steel sizing die (RCBS both) measured .375". Winchester factory .357 cases measured .375"
I assume that a case .371" in a .376" or larger chamber will be lying on the bottom of the chamber with a relatively large empty space over the cartridge case. The bullet will start out hitting the lower half of the bore, causing the leading.
I loaded some unsized fired cases using just the expander/belling die. The bullet, .357", was a relatively tight fit in the unsized cases, and is roll crimped into the first band.
I'll be testing out this theory the first day the wind isn't blowing 35 mph in West Texas.
Any gurus out there have opinions on this hypothesis?
Clyde

DLCTEX
04-23-2007, 10:29 PM
At the least there is potential for the boolit to start out skewed, leading and/or gas cutting are sure to follow. You don't state the maker of the carbide die, but if its that much undersized, I'd contact the maker and give them an opportunity to make it right. Dale

Char-Gar
04-23-2007, 10:33 PM
I am not a guru by any means, but I doubt if your theory will prove out. It may, who knows, it is new one on me. My money is on bad bullet fit or alloy.