PDA

View Full Version : Fillout

PuppetZ
06-07-2012, 12:34 AM
So I got this new C312=155-2R from Lee. I have a weird thing happens consitently. The rear(meaning the closest to the handle) cavity wont fill out properly. No wrinkle or hollow but rounded GC shank. It happens only with the rear cavity and not the front one. I thought maybe it was a venting problem due to the proximity of the sprue plate hinge and lossened the screw a bit but no luck there. I tried lowering alloy temp, raising temp, casting faster, slower, tried different pour speed. Nothing did the trick.

I wonder if anyone has a mold that does this thing and what do they do about it?

DrCaveman
06-07-2012, 12:40 AM
Hmmm pretty much got me stumped. Not that I am an expert.

You didn't mention filling the rear cavity first as an option. That is something I have done to even things out from time to time. Seems to distribute heat differently within the mould.

Other than that, my guess wold be that your mould isn't up to temp. Try dipping it in the alloy for 10-15 seconds, see how your results differ.

DrCaveman
06-07-2012, 12:44 AM
Bear in mnd that the GC shank will most likely be covered with a GC so rounded corners there shouldnt matter. My experience with this boolit (through CZ 527 in 7.62.39) has required GC to avoid leading the barrel. But I may improve yet, am still horsing around with cooling methods, lube, and sizing diameter.

PuppetZ
06-07-2012, 12:51 AM
Tried that too. I literally immersed it in the alloy to make extra sure it was hot. Did not change one thing except the sprue took forever to solidify and boolits came out frosty like the great white north. Weird I tell ya.

Edit : now I come to think of it, the fisrt few after the lead bath looked much better fillout wise, but merely took a few cycle to start messing again.

Cadillo
06-07-2012, 12:51 AM