PDA

View Full Version : Help Picking An Alloy

Don in Texas
06-03-2012, 12:34 AM
Hey guys. I'm new to casting boolits. We have nothing to speak of here locally as a good source of lead, so for the sake of convenience I'm probably going to start out using Rotometals.

The shooting that I do is cowboy shooting with 45 colts. I also do a lot of plinking/paper punching with 38 special and 45 ACP. I'll probably end up doing the same kind of shooting with 44 special also. I really don't have any need for full power magnum loads for the kind of shooting I do. I've managed to pick up some moulds (Lyman and RCBS) at various gun shops over the past couple years at bargain prices. A couple of my .38 moulds are designed for using gas checks, but if I understand correctly, you don't necessarily have to use the GC's if you are using a softer alloy and keeping the velocitys down. That's what got me thinking about which alloy to use.

Rotometals version of Lyman #2 seems like it might be harder than what I need. I was wondering if their 1:16 or 1:20 might be more suitable for me, and might perform better for those GC moulds, but without the added expense of buying the checks. Any thoughts you guys might have would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Don

runfiverun
06-03-2012, 12:46 AM
if i had to buy.
i would get their hardball alloy and pure lead then mix it 1-1
for a 1/3/96 alloy.
you could mix this equally with any ww's you find.
use a bit more of the 2/6 alloy for diameter help.
add more pure,more tin,,etc.

Dale53
06-03-2012, 12:49 AM
Elmer Keith used 16/1 lead/tin for all of his loads with success. Now, of course, tin is much more expensive. That is why most people use WW's (I use WW's+2% tin for excellent fill out).