PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needing help II

nemesisenforcer
05-23-2012, 10:40 PM
I'm new to the casting scene and true to form, just jumped in with both feet and no training or prior thought given to finding out anything ahead of time.

I've got access to WW aplenty, but I'm concerned that I might be getting zinc in the mix.

I saw the stickies on sorting wheel weights and will definitely try to do that in the future, but I'm having barrel leading problems and wondering if zinc may be the culprit?

454PB
05-23-2012, 10:54 PM
Don't feel like the lone ranger.....most all of us started out the same way, it's called "on the job training".

No, zinc isn't your problem unless you have some really bad looking boolits as a result of having it in your alloy.....which would be obvious before you loaded them.

Read some of the stickies and use the search function to learn how to avoid leading.

Assuming your bore is not copper fouled, the major culprits are undersized boolits, bad or insufficient lubrication, too much pressure/velocity, or a rough bore.

quiver
05-23-2012, 10:56 PM
Welcome!

A sufficient amount of zinc in the alloy would have made it impossible to cast from what I have read. Also zinc is harder than lead but I don't know if it would cause an alloy to be softer and cause leading. Most causes of leading are inadequate lube, velocity, fit of boolit, or a rough bore.

nemesisenforcer
05-23-2012, 11:20 PM
OK so zinc isn't the issue. The boolits are coming out of the mold pretty good (had some issues with one mold but cleaned it and it got better, but not perfect) so it's something else, most likely the lube as far as I can figure.

I'll keep plugging away.

littlejack
05-23-2012, 11:25 PM
nemesisenforcer:
Welcome to the CastBoolits sir.
As was previously stated, make sure ALL of the copper fouling is out of the bore you are shooting the cast boolits in. This copper fouling will grab onto the lead as it trips down the bore, and cause all kinds of leading.