PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help!!!

nemesisenforcer
05-21-2012, 11:55 PM
Hello all. I've been reloading for years but I'm new to bullet casting.

Been having issues with the bullets I'm casting and I'm hoping the collective expertise here can fix my ignorance.

I'm casting 45 ACP and 357/38 special.

I'm using Lee molds (the 158 SWC with gas check for the 357 and 230 grain LRN for the 45.) I'm using 6 cavity molds on both.

The issue is, of course, barrel leading. I'm using wheel weights for alloy and shoot a Taurus 1911, a SIG 220, a Ruger GP100, Ruger SP101, and Rossi 357 (all the revolvers are stainless barrels and the autos are carbon steel tubes.)

I get the leading pretty much no matter what, i.e. whether I size (using 357 and 452 Lee sizing dies for the record) or if I shoot as cast, lubed or unlubed, and irrespective of velocity, except at the very low end (500 fps for the 45, a little faster on the 357s.)

I've figured out how to get the lead out thanks to this site and the sticky and am very appreciative of that, but I'd like to avoid the problem altogether if possible.

From what other casters have said I shouldn't be getting leading at anything under magnum velocities so I must be doing something wrong.

I'm using Lee Alox lube and have gas checked the 357s and that helped some, but there's still a distinct residue after shooting and a full on layer of lead in the 45 barrels.

Please help.

05-22-2012, 12:05 AM
Many possibilities, here, but here are two quickies.

1. Have you slugged all the cylinder throats and barrels? If not, do so using soft lead slugs and measure with a micrometer.

2. Have you measured loaded and pulled boolits, again with a micrometer? It's possible your loading method and/or seating and crimp dies are swaging the boolits.

geargnasher
05-22-2012, 12:30 AM