PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with 54 Cal Great Plains Mould

mveit
05-21-2012, 06:08 PM
Hi guys,
I'm a newbie to making boolits, and I just made my first cast.
I'm using a Lyman Plains Mould, which is a conical with solid base.
Bullet # : 548657
Grain: 450gr
Single Cavity # : 2654657
I've made about 150 bullets as a trial run.
I have some questions about the weight's I am getting, and also the size of boolit.

Boolit Weight Question
The Mould claims that it makes a 450g boolit.
My boolits are coming out with 90% 437-439g, and about 10% 440g. (I'm tossing back anything below 436, just a few are 435 & 434)
I do see that my bullets are shinnier, and not as dark as the bullets I have purchased, so I guess that it is not 100% lead. The fingernail test seems to indicate they are about the same hardness though.
Could non-pure lead be 10g lighter on a 450g boolit?

Boolit Size Question
The Hornady 425g boolits that I bought are .550 at the top bullet ridge and go smaller below that, something like .547, .545 and .540
My boolits that I made are .539 at the top and .535 at the base.
When I put them in my T/C Renegade they slip down in fairly easily compared to my purchased Honoday 425g Great Plains Boolits.

Did I just not pay enough attention when I purchased my mould? (Newbie mistake?)
Will it matter that the boolits I am making are .539 max diameter, will they engage the rifling properly? (I shot 10 last Saturday and they seemed to be fairly good at 100 yards. Not really any difference that I can tell between my loose fitting boolits .539" (438g) vs Hornady .550" (425g).

I sort of rather have a tighter fitting bullet, does it engage the rifling more?
Will my boolit stay tight after hunting 5 days?
Should I buy a new mould?
Should I care?

Thanks!

mveit (newbie - Idaho)

stubert
05-21-2012, 07:37 PM
When you light off a load of black, the boolit will shorten and fatten to seal the bore. Your weight issue sounds like you have some tin mixed it. What does it melt at?