PDA

View Full Version : Lead and Tin

deepskyridge
05-15-2012, 01:21 PM
I am new to boolit casting, I am not new to shooting.

I have some WW that I will be melting and making ingot's.

I am looking for some info on adding Tin to lead. How much tin ? I have searched on this board but have not found a good explanation of the process/amounts.

Any info would be helpful.

Thanks
Gary

cf_coder
05-15-2012, 01:30 PM
I guess the answer isn't quite as simple as "add this much". There is an entire universe in-between your question and the end result...

What are you going to shoot your boolits out of? Rifle? Pistol? Have you tried casting without adding tin? How did the boolits look? good, sharp edges? Rounded? Some folks can cast just fine without tin, others need it...

You might want to search on this site for a member named Bumpo628. He has an Alloy Calculator that is pretty good at getting you to a specific hardness, or telling you what your hardness is close to based on what you put in... Here is the link to the calculator (http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=105952)

gbrown
05-15-2012, 02:03 PM
Go down to the bottom of this page. Look at Cast Bullet Notes from LASC--click on that and look at alloys. Click on Cast bullet alloys/ Alloy maintenance. Buuuttt, I'm +1 with cf coder. Just what do you want to do? WW alloy water cooled is usually quite adequate for the hottest pistol loads. You probably need to read Glen Fryxell's book or publication--found on this site--From Ingot to Target. I'm kinda in the same position as you. Did this 40 years ago, but forgot most of the stuff. Am re-learning. Read, go slow, experiment, watch the threads on this forum. Read the ones that have the same questions as you. The knowledge base here is in centuries, not decades.

deepskyridge
05-15-2012, 03:05 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.

I mostly will be casting for handgun shooting, 45 acp and 9mm Luger, mabye 38 special. No rifle rounds at this time.