PDA

View Full Version : ::WANTED:: Tips for Lee molds

thauge
05-13-2012, 02:48 AM
Well, for starters, I'm pretty new to boolit casting. What attracted me to is is the cost savings of being able to turn a basically unlimited supply of WW into boolits. All I have to buy is primers and powder. I've tried several molds out and I do like the Lee 6 cavity for the sprue plate cam feature. Currently, I'm using a 9mm 120gr TC 6 cavity mold. I'm needing suggestions on how to kick out good boolits from it. My main issue is wrinkling of the boolits, and that usually means a too cool of a mold, but I can never seem to find the magic mold temp. Also, what is a good temp for the melt, Lee reccomends hotter than usual temps, but no specifics. What is the 'norm' for casting with iron/steel molds vs. casting with aluminum molds?

At some point, I'm planning getting the automated equipment from Magma, but that is a ways off still.

Also, should I be using the spray on graphite or smoking the mold, or just go naked?

Wilsknife
05-13-2012, 04:09 AM
Hotplate to warm the molds prior to and during casting. You'll know if the hotplate is too warm because the led will stay molten(liquid).
And also, SMOKE them with matches until the insides are almost black.
I took a brand new 6-cavity a couple of days ago, smoked it, preheated, and got good boolits after only 2 fills.
Good luck and Happy Casting!

Wilsknife
05-13-2012, 04:14 AM
Hotplate to warm the molds prior to and during casting. You'll know if the hotplate is too warm because the led will stay molten(liquid).
And also, SMOKE them with matches until the insides are almost black.
I took a brand new 6-cavity a couple of days ago, smoked it, preheated, and got good boolits after only 2 fills.
Good luck and Happy Casting!

Land Owner
05-13-2012, 04:54 AM