PDA

View Full Version : Marlin+Cast=Frustrated....Help!

WaywardSon
05-08-2012, 09:57 AM
I've been reloading for many years & I will admit up front that is has been mostly j-word bullets for the rifles. I would like to learn about cast bullets in the Marlins...and have to say that I am finding out what a n00b I am from reading on this forum...it is a tremendous resource.

Yesterday was about the most frustrated I have ever been at the range. I had my Marlin 1894 in .44 Magnum along with about 6 different loads. All commercial cast 240 gr., mostly SWC design. Long story short, at 25 yds I was having trouble keeping them on the paper...never mind in the bullseye. Had obvious key-holing with more than one load. The gun is equipped with a Redfield peep sight & the loads were all pretty mild (1000 fps. ballpark). Groups...if you can call them that, ranged from 5" to 3 shots on the paper! This is at 25 yds from a solid rest.

After attempting to try some commercial .44 Special (Winchester Cowboy) to see if my loads were the problem...gun tried to "feed two" and locked up tight:-) Said to heck with it and went to the house. Truth be told, I didn't say heck.

Got home and finally got the gun apart...never seen one jammed that tight. It was of course filthy with lots of leading. Got it cleaned up and now want to do what I should have done to start with...slug the bore. What is the best way to go about that? I have done a search, but did not find what I am looking for. Can I take a commercial cast slug, use a lot of lube and push it through the bore? My pusher would be a solid brass ramrod that is about 3/8" in diameter using a .45 caliber jag on the end. It matches the base of the bullet pretty well and I believe it is stout enough.

I know this gun can be made to shoot cast bullets well & intend to make it happen. A little help on slugging the bore would be appreciated. Sorry for the rambling post, but I am still mad from yesterday:-)

Best...........John

Calamity Jake