PDA

View Full Version : Commercial Casting Quesiton? Size availability.

kcinnick
05-08-2012, 04:04 AM
I am fairly new to casting, been collecting for a while, but haven't done much casting.

Anyway, I am curious to why almost all of the commercial bullets available are "undersized". Most everyone I know recommends .357 or .358 bullets for 9mm, yet almost every commercial caster has .356 bullets available. It is the same for all calibers, with very few offering .001 or .002 "oversized" bullets.

I have never seen a 9mm not chamber a .357 bullet, well I haven't seen one not chamber a .358 bullet for that matter, so why wouldn't they size properly to prevent leading?

Moonie
05-08-2012, 08:30 AM
They size to what sells, market driven. Most people that purchase cast boolits do not know what size they really need but know enough physics to know bigger bullets are bad without realizing bigger boolits are good.

ku4hx
05-08-2012, 08:32 AM
Check the Lyman manuals and you'll see many of their cast bullets are sized to .001" over "standard" jacketed diameter. I have no idea if this has any real influence, but Lyman has been the business for a long time.

All the jacketed 9mm bullets I have are/were advertised at .355". .356" is therefore .001" over standard. Same for 40cal/10mm. Of course there are exceptions.

But you have to remember, the commercial casters are in the business to make a profit. If they don't make money they go out of business eventually. That's not to say they don't have the shooter's best interest in mind, just that standardization keeps costs down.

kcinnick
05-08-2012, 09:34 AM
I guess I thought it was more mainstream to go with .357 for 9mm than .356, same with other calibers. I haven't tried smaller, I guess I have always read going bigger seals better and prevents leading more so than hardness or lube used.

Danderdude
05-08-2012, 10:04 AM
Advertised sizing generally means MINIMUM sizes, with a small margin of error of +.0005 to +.0015.

sqlbullet