PDA

View Full Version : coal fired generation down?

Y2K
05-07-2012, 10:57 AM
Normally I see train after train hauling coal from Wyo. to wherever. The last few days, I haven't seen a single full train moving and only a couple of empties. I have it on good authority that the trains are parked and the mines shut down--doing only maintenance/repair work. Has our "wonderful" government shut down the coal fired units in response to GLOBAL WARMING and air quality pressures? If so, what are people going to do in just a few weeks about running A/C and electric cars, etc., when it warms up? Not to completely fall for the conspiracy theories, but this looks to be very scary as I fail to see enough wind and solar generation capacity. Can someone help educate me as to what is going on--not finding anything with a quick search of the web.

Rex
05-07-2012, 11:02 AM
I bet you money there aren't a one shut down except for spring maintenance. I worked in the industry for 33 years.

Y2K
05-07-2012, 11:18 AM
I can understand the spring shutdown, but don't remember the trains being non-existant on the tracks and/or parked. Main reason I notice is I work next to a mainline and it's awfully quiet.

Sasquatch-1
05-07-2012, 11:21 AM
Considering that the power for Capitol Hill (Federal Government Buildings) comes from a coal fired plant, I doubt that they have completely shut them down. But then again, what's good for the goose is not always good for the gander.

Wots
05-07-2012, 12:05 PM
Here in chicago they recently shut down coal fired State Line Generating Plant (515 megawatts) with two other slated for shutdown within the next few years. All in the name of environmental concerns.

Then take into consideration the aging nuclear plants...........................

I would love to see "there" faces when we start having brown outs, rolling black outs, etc

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/State_Line_Generating_Plant