PDA

View Full Version : Excessive pressure shown in primers ?

WDS
05-04-2012, 07:17 PM
This is my first try at lead bullets in .40 S & W.

Bullets are LEE 401-175 TC water dropped wheel weights + 2 % tin and sized to .401" or .400" in diameter. Powder is Alliant Power Pistol, 5.7 grains. Primer is lead free from PMC.

The top row of the picture were fired in a Glock, bottom row in a Beretta. I have changed primer brands, changed the powder charge up and down, changed brand of cases and changed the bullet diameter. All loads have an OAL of 1.135". The appearance of fired primers appears to be consistent in all of my tests.

The primers in the bottom row appear to me to have a circular raised area around the firing pin detent. I am concerned that this may be an indication of excessive chamber pressure. I would appreciate any opinions as to what's going on here.

gray wolf
05-04-2012, 08:02 PM
They look normal to me, the Glock primers have the typical hour glass mark from the
breach face. There seems to be a little drag from the firing pin, the hit is elongated a little, could indicate a timing issue. Slide movement while pin is still protruded.
Could be normal for the Glock. I see it all the time with factory ammo.
The primers from the Beretta also look quite normal. It doesn't take much to impart breach face marks on the face of the primers. The little half moon is also quite common.
I think high pressure would show as a flattened primer with the cup rolled into the corners of the primer pocket.
I don't have my notes but I think your O A L is long ( long loading ) not a problem unless it creates one with function and should ease pressure unless the bullet is jamming into the barrel lead. I don't have the max load for your set up but if you are below max You are probably OK.
Is that brass very old ? are you up to speed about the Glock bulge on the brass ?
How do you say .400 .401 ? don't you know ? Most 40's shoot .401