PDA

View Full Version : How many cavity mold to buy ?

mikeh3
04-12-2007, 08:16 AM
As you can tell by my previous post "Help with what lee mold to buy", I'm just starting to get into the cast bullet game. My next question is how many cavity mold should I buy. It would seem the more cavities the better but like I said, I'm just getting started and their may be something that I'm not thinking about. Please advise. Thanks

Lloyd Smale
04-12-2007, 08:45 AM
best off to start with a couple two cavity molds. Get the hang of casting and then you will be able to answer your own question based on how much production you need and how much time you want to spend casting vs. mold price.

Bret4207
04-12-2007, 08:47 AM
Start with a 1 or 2 cavity mold, any brand, and go for quality until you get the hang of casting. Actually trying 4 or 5 single cavities would be the best way. 2 moulds from the same maker of the same design can be 2 completely different animals. Start with a six cav aluminum and you have 6 times the start up issues to deal with, and a lot more money lost if you ruin a mould in the learning process.

BruceB
04-12-2007, 09:35 AM
Lee has recently made what I think is a wise move.

They've begun making many of their RIFLE moulds in two-cavity format, where previously only the pistol designs were to be had in two-bangers. This offers a very useful gain in output without a lot of extra expense, and I'm going to be upgrading at least couple of mine to 2-cavity in the near future.

I've never owned a six-cavity Lee, nor do I believe I need such a critter. When my 2-cavity moulds (Lee, Lyman, RCBS etc etc) can turn out four hundred-plus bullets per hour, and the 4-cavity jobs can push the 1000/hr figure, I just don't need SIX cavities.