PDA

View Full Version : Gas Check ?

PhatForrest
05-03-2012, 09:38 PM
Hello all,

Is it a problem to load a gas check bullet design, such as for a 357 bullet, without a check installed?

lead chucker
05-03-2012, 10:59 PM
Not a problem I have done it a lot with my 44 mag but you have to keep your velocity down or you will spend a lot of time cleaning lead out of your barrel. I make my own gc now so every thing gets a gas check accept for my 45 acp.

PhatForrest
05-03-2012, 11:09 PM
The leading was kinda what I was afraid of. I'm a newb at this art, and didn't know if it would cause the extra leading if i ran the rounds at standard velocity, not looking to hot rod them without the checks in place.

MtGun44
05-04-2012, 02:08 AM
May not be very accurate, but it might be.

I quit using GCs in pistols many years ago, they are totally unecessary
and cost a good bit of money, and are fiddly to put on.

Bill

geargnasher
05-04-2012, 02:23 AM
Hello all,

Is it a problem to load a gas check bullet design, such as for a 357 bullet, without a check installed?

It depends a lot on your alloy, your powder selection, quality of your castings (particularly how sharp and well-defined the base band is), how fast you push them, how well they fit the gun and lots of other things, but there isn't inherently any problem with doing it except they sometimes don't shoot as accurately as a plain (flat) based boolit.

If you'll look in the classics and stickies section, there's a long thread discussing just this topic, you might find some useful information there.

Gear

44man
05-04-2012, 08:45 AM
Gear and Bill sum it up real good.
Several things to consider. Soft boolits need the check to halt skid at the base.
Leaving the check off shortens the drive area and could make a certain weight boolit no longer match twist.
Some will shoot and some won't. You must test with your gun and boolit.

targetshootr
05-04-2012, 10:49 PM