PDA

View Full Version : Abbreviation Sticky

Sasquatch-1
05-01-2012, 08:19 AM
Has there ever been any consideration to an abbreviations sticky.

I have been reloading for quite a few decades and still run across some I am not sure of. I am sure that a lot of the newbies out there don't understand a lot of them and may be afraid to ask.

clodhopper
05-01-2012, 04:48 PM
Funny thing about abbrevations.
People write because they want someone to read it.
Then they get tired fingers and use abbrevations, Right when clarity is paramount, suddenly it's on the reader to understand what the writing is about.
Frankly I do not spend much time reading posts written by lazy typests, sure I can come up with words that fit the letters, but there's no telling what word the writer ment to convey.
If anything needs looked up the writer should do that in order to get read.

Trey45
05-01-2012, 04:56 PM
Just a couple weeks ago we had complaints about too many stickies, now we have a request for another sticky. Welcome to the world of a mod, we can never please everyone, and sometimes we can't even please anyone.

montana_charlie
05-01-2012, 05:45 PM
Has there ever been any consideration to an abbreviations sticky.

I still run across some I am not sure of.
When a poster is unclear, I ask him to explain. If his abbreviations have to be explained frequently, perhaps he will start typing out the words ... if he knows how to spell.

CM

Doc_Stihl
05-01-2012, 06:04 PM
I'm not sure how more information could be a bad thing.

I don't feel like typing Lee Liquid Alox everytime, and I doubt every new comer to the site knows what LLA is.
PP = Paper Patch
WDWW = Water Dropped Wheel Weights
SOWW = Stick On Wheel Weights
There's a few that most noobs aren't gonna know and they're gonna see in a bunch of places.

As for people complaining about too many stickies, it's not much of an inconvenience to scroll past it, but some folks might need it still.

stubshaft
05-01-2012, 07:16 PM