PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for PPE?

Dakine
04-28-2012, 03:02 PM
Hi I am just getting started in casting and swaging and putting together my kit. I saw the poll on gloves or no gloves, and I think I will definitely be going with gloves, I really wish I could get a pair of those Oakleys :D

What about the rest of the PPE gear?

Apron? leather or ? where is a good cheap place to get one?

Face shield? from Lowe's / Home Depot good enough or no?

Breathing mask? do you guys use just a cheapie cotton mask or do you get one that a painter might use with replaceable media or ??

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
Dakine

Shiloh
04-28-2012, 03:23 PM
Gloves and safety goggles.
Gonna get some of those safety glasses side shields in the future. In hot, humid weather, the goggles fog up. The side guards are cheap.

Shiloh

dbarnhart
04-28-2012, 06:05 PM
Harbor freight has a set of welder's gloves and apron on sale right now for $16.99:

http://www.harborfreight.com/3-piece-welders-leather-combo-set-94128.html

MBTcustom
04-28-2012, 06:16 PM
You definitely need to invest in some asbestos flip-flops:kidding:
You dont need a leather apron. Just a canvas one will do. If you have good eyesight, all you need is a pair of Winchester shooting glasses from wal-mart. I prefer casting with a glove, but only on my right hand YMMV. I cast outside most of the time, so I dispense with the face-mask. The main thing is to where leather footwear. Hot lead BB's can sometimes get through the mesh on your nike's.

bbqncigars
04-28-2012, 09:04 PM
I would advise cotton socks and tightly laced leather footwear. Anybody who said white boys can't dance should have seen me the one time a bit of molten lead went into my cowboy boots. :-)

Wayne

mdi
04-29-2012, 11:42 AM