PDA

View Full Version : After 25 Years Of Reloading I'm Casting Boolits!

roarin 54
04-21-2012, 07:26 PM
I just purchased a used Lyman 429421 two cavity mould this week and cast a bunch of boolits last night from lead that I have been saving for 25 years. In the last month I have been making ingots on my Coleman campstove getting a feel for fluxing and messing with liquid hot metal. I ordered a Lyman kit two years ago that had the 4500 lubesizer, the mini mag pot, ladle and the Lyman manual. After picking out 50 of the best boolits, I sized them to .430. They would fall through four cylinders on my 4 5/8" Ruger SBH and push through the other two with very slight pressure. I lubed the them with a home made lube that I will detail in the Lube Forum. I shot all fifty at the range today, accuracy could be better I'll just have to tweak the load some I started with 8.5 grains of Unique, Federal brass, and Winchester WLP primers. After 50 consecutive shots I pulled the cylinder and was extremley pleased to see no trace of lead in the bore at all. I'm just starting but I think I'm addicted.

04-21-2012, 07:45 PM
Man, what took you so long!?

roarin 54
04-21-2012, 07:49 PM
Man, what took you so long!?

Lack of time, and a little fear of the unknown. I am a real procrastinator I didn't get my birthmark till I was 8 years old:)

slide
04-21-2012, 07:50 PM
Yep, you're addicted. No re hab for this addiction!

geargnasher
04-21-2012, 07:57 PM
Something tells me it won't take 25 more years to cast and shoot the next batch!

I have really good luck with both Unique and 2400 in that caliber. I don't know what your alloy was, but if it's older clip-on wheel weights or anything like that with antimony in it be aware that it will be fairly soft when cast and age-harden considerably in a week or two, so loads you work up with "green" boolits might react differently with ones that are "seasoned" a bit, just something to be aware of.