PDA

View Full Version : Help needed 38-40 ????

rbertalotto
04-20-2012, 07:48 PM
Today I picked up an original 1873 Winchester in 38-40. I know zero about this cartridge so I'll ask a few questions and hopefully the folks here will have a few answers.

#1) Black Powder only?
#2) If folks are shooting smokeless, what powders?
#3) 41 cal, correct. What is a reasonable Lee mold?
#4) Where can I get brass?
#5) Who makes dies for this cartridge?

THANKS!

coyotebait
04-20-2012, 08:03 PM
I saw your post on the rifle you picked up, nice find. I am glad you are sticking with the original caliber. I have no first hand experience with the 38-40 but saw an article in Handloader magazine regarding it and its sister cartridge. The article is in the August 2011 issue number 273. You can certainly use mild smokeless loads. Starline makes brass and I have always had good service from it in several other calibers and you can get it direct from the factory.
coyotebait

hydraulic
04-20-2012, 09:32 PM
I use starline brass, too. My '73 was made in '86 so it's black powder only for me. Others use light charges of smokeless, but I don't want to chance it with a rifle that's over 100 yrs. old. I also have a SAA Colt in .38-40, and it could be used with smokeless-manufactured in 1897-but, again, I know I'm safe using black powder. Bullet mould is an RCBS 40-180, same one I use for my S&W Sigma .40.

BCall
04-20-2012, 09:39 PM
1- Don't know, can't help you there.
2- I've been using Trail Boss.
3- Technically a 40 cal, the Lee 40-175-TC can be made to work, but there is no crimp groove. Can work provided it casts large enough for whatever your bore measures. Can crimp on the forward edge. The RCBS 40-180 is a better option, and with black you can crimp on the forward edge and be in good shape.
4- Starline brass is the best IMO.
5- Lee makes dies, but I prefer the Hornady ones. Redding and RCBS make them as well.

rbertalotto
04-20-2012, 09:59 PM
Thanks folks