PDA

View Full Version : saeco mold

canuck4570
03-30-2007, 09:34 AM
Just bought a Saeco mold 4 cavities and with wheel weight it cast bullets of .314 my quiestion his should I return it or keep it .... I find that sezing .314 to .309 ou .310 his a bit too much.... am I mistaken our right.... thank you....it is a 365 gr... 30 caliber bullets....

Ricochet
03-30-2007, 09:40 AM
How are you sizing? Are you lubing before sizing? I was having a terrible time sizing boolits down in Lee push through sizers and actually broke my loading bench doing so before I realized it's really necessary to lube them first. As I've posted before, dipping them in water makes it much easier, and slightly soapy water works great without leaving a messy residue.

Can't speak to the Lyman sizers as I've got little experience. The .45-70 boolit that's long been stuck in my #45 lubrisizer was one of the first ones in it. Got to work on getting it out one of these days. But yeah, it can be a bear to size down a hard boolit with one of them, too.

canuck4570
03-30-2007, 10:04 AM
I have a RCBS seizer and work great heaven wiht no lube.... I put the gaz check and seize them then heat threath them and with a biggier seizing die lube them.... in bout ways no problem.....

MT Gianni
03-30-2007, 10:15 AM
I would keep it. What will you use it in? If it sizes ok to 310 and works in your 30's it should work great unsized in a 303 or various surplus rifles. the other question is, are you sure of your measuring equipment? Is 365 gr a typo or is this a custom mold? Gianni.

canuck4570
03-30-2007, 10:50 AM
MT Gianny.... it is a Seaco mold and my Starret was verified by my son ... he his a machinist at Air Canada...... it seize pretty good in my RCBS seizer but I read that every thousand you seize it is a inche lost in accuracy.... I personnaly dont beleive that ... but I would like some opinion.....

canuck4570
03-30-2007, 11:04 AM