PDA

View Full Version : Begginers thread?

iloveguns
03-23-2012, 10:57 PM
Hey guys Is there a intro into casting Boolit's thread? I looked around and could not find anything. Sorry if this is a topic that gets brought up often. I am completely new to this whole process.

Thanks

Certaindeaf
03-23-2012, 11:03 PM
This site is all about casting and shooting cast bullets. Check out the "sticky's" up top here and there for starts.
Welcome to the club.

Blacksmith
03-24-2012, 01:37 AM
Down at the bottom of the page click the box where it says "Cast Bullet Notes From lasc.us" which will take you to a page with a link to Glen E. Fryxell's online book
From Ingot to Target: A Cast Bullet Guide for Handgunners
Which is a good starting point then start reading all of the stickies at each of the sections here starting with the ones devoted to casting and metals. By then you will know what direction to further your interests.

geargnasher
03-24-2012, 01:53 AM
Welcome to the madness! You have asked the best question first I believe, so do take Blacksmith's tip and Read From Ingot to Target first, let it sink in a few days, and read it again. You'll enjoy the read and there's lots to learn that applies to casting for rifles too. This will save you a lot of time.

Our Classics/stickies section is a good one too, but not in a very newbie-friendly, chapter-and-verse format. If you have specific questions, try the forum search feature, and/or go the appropriate sub-forum and browse the sticky titles first. Most of the questions you're likely to have have been asked and answered many times, but don't be afraid to start a thread if you don't find what you're looking for or just want a sanity check!

Good luck,

Gear

runfiverun
03-24-2012, 02:04 AM
some of the information is a bit scattered.
there are a bunch of us here, if you get stuck gohead and ask.

missionary5155
03-24-2012, 06:04 AM
Good morning & Welcome to our place !