PDA

View Full Version : I'm New Here

Whitespider
03-27-2007, 09:40 PM
Hi,
Been reading posts here for some time now. Decided to register and jump right in with questions.

I’ve been shooting cast bullets for over twenty years now. But, I have never poured my own, always had a buddy that would custom cast for me. At my request he would change the alloy, lube, or size to fit my needs. I’m an “old hand” at loading and shooting cast but have never even watched someone pour a single bullet. Anyway, I have lost that source of great bullets. I think I’m gonna’ hafta’ start casting my own to get the quality I want and am used to.

I have several buckets of wheel weights collected and some cast iron pots. I have not acquired any moulds yet, but I would like to smelt the WWs into ingots to get a feel for this casting thing. I read that some of you use different heat sources.

My Question:
I have an old electric stove/oven that works perfectly, just sitting in the garage. Will the burners on an electric stove work for a heat source to cast bullets? Or is there a problem with this type of heat source.

I’ll listen to any other direction any of you will give me. I’m old enough now to know when I’m a complete rookie at something.

Thanks a bunch

mooman76
03-27-2007, 10:02 PM
I've use and electric stove before and it worked great! Welcome to the board!

TedH
03-27-2007, 10:05 PM
Welcome!

I never tried an electric stove for melting lead, but I suspect it would work. You might want more BTUs for smelting wheelweights to ingots. A few handfulls of wheelweights cools off a pot in a hurry. A cheap dutch oven and a propane turkey fryer works great. You may also want to look into getting a bottom pour pot for casting bullets. I admit I have never poured bullets with a dipper, but I see no reason to use anything but a bottom pour pot. I've been using a cheap LEE 10 lb. pot for 10 years and it is still going strong.

Uncle Grinch
03-27-2007, 10:16 PM