PDA

View Full Version : Using herco/universal in 30-30, and 30-06

newton
03-15-2012, 10:05 PM
Hello gents, been mulling around here for a while now and figured I'd join. I am new to reloading, been doing it for a couple of years. And now I have decided to venture into casting.

I am going to cast for the 30-30(M94) and an old Stevens 30-06. I have all the equipment, been researching/studying for the last year. Recently purchased two lee molds. 113gr 'soup can' and 170 fngc. I am sure the collection will grow, but this gets me started.

The question I have is in reference to the 170 boolit. I also want input for the 113 grainer, but that's a side note for now. In the research I have done, for the low velocity rounds I am looking for, Unique seems to be the number one powder of choice. And I would go with it, but it seems like its popularity keeps it off the shelves.

But the Lyman book I have shows most of the same load data with Herco being an option. And to boot, it always seems to follow Unique loads +1 grain. So is it a pretty good powder to experiment with? Or is there a powder closer to Unique I should consider?

Uses of the ammo will be paper punching and tin can hunting. Maybe some small game mixed in, but anything larger will get a gas check and some 4198. I was looking at Universal and it seems to be real close to Unique, but not a spec of load data I can find for my calibers. Please let me know what you guys think about what I should be looking for. Many thanks.

L Ross
03-15-2012, 10:27 PM
How's the availablity of Red Dot or better yet Promo? Promo can be used as a Red Dot substitute by weight, i.e. grain for grain. I use 6.5 gr in the 30-30 and 13 gr. in the 30-06. I bought Promo at $79.95 for an 8 lb. jug.

Duke

357maximum
03-15-2012, 10:31 PM
Welcome to the fray.....I bet you do not even know how much trouble you are in since landing here. :bigsmyl2: