PDA

View Full Version : Casting for M1 .30 Carbine ??

Pop_No_Kick
06-29-2005, 11:55 AM
I am a Newbie Bullet Caster.
And Would like to know if casting M1 .30 Carbine is Viable ?

This is the U.S. M1 .30 Carbine and Ammo is getting Scarce here in La.
(Thats Left of Alabama (Louisiana) .

I wondering if it does more damage than Good. Because of the Gas Operation
and Pondering the Leading in the Gas Tube.

Also, Reloading Suplies Here are Getting Scarce..

Dies Can be Had cheap. AVG $ is about 5 bucks for 3 peice Set (RCBS etc.)
because nobody's Reloading any more. Common Dies are gone But alot
Old odd balls still around.

Also Thanx's For all the great Post. Ya'll are Best source of info. !!

Thanx's again
Chuck.

grumble
06-29-2005, 12:23 PM
Chuck, there are several guys here who routinely use cast in their gas-operated semiautos. Personally, I don't -- if one gun in a million would choke off the gas system from leading, it would be mine.

So, I won't advise against it. But, if you are concerned, check out the milsurp 110g carbine bullets. They're cheap, and reasonably decent bullets. Another plus is that they make great hi velocity varmit rounds in other chamberings. My truck gun is a 30-30 loaded with these, and a number of coyotes have wished I didn't use those bullets.

Poygan
06-29-2005, 12:40 PM
I've used cast via the Lyman .311359 for years. Initially I lubed them with melted alox 50/50 without sizing. Although I didn't shoot in any great quantities, I only recently bought a gas piston wrench to clean it out. I actually found minimal leading after many decades. The lead I used in those days was mostly soft range lead as well. Oh, yes, this mold is a gas check design but I didn't use gas checks either. So, my suggestion is that you give it a try. These molds come up on e-bay with some regularity. There's also a .311410 thats about 130 grains w/o gas check. The 311359 is around 115 grains.

Pop_No_Kick
06-29-2005, 07:14 PM