PDA

View Full Version : One of those evenings

DIRT Farmer
03-12-2012, 11:31 PM
You ever have one of those evenings, where every thing goes to spritz then turns around? I glanced at the Ruger Mini 14 that has been riding with me for more than 30 years, and decided tonight the bolt needed dissambly and cleaning, looked like a chunk under the extractor. No biggie,it needed done. "Bill"goes in the pickup, on the tractor and on the cart when I make my oil field run. It rode with me every shift when I worked as a police officer.

You know the sprong/oh ---- thing? well the extractor left the bolt. I looked, figured I would have to sweep the floor then recruit one of the grand kids to crawl around and find it, and was already to call for the part. I put the rifle back togather, Stood up and it fell out of my pants cuff. I striped it back down, assembled it properly, life is good

canyon-ghost
03-12-2012, 11:35 PM
TC Contender trigger spring, off the ceiling, off the wall and vanishes into the carpet. Crawled around for two hours with a flashlight, didn't find it. Sat back down in the chair to sulk and there it was, about 8" from my left foot (stocking feet). Ta Duh!

Yes, know the feeling.

03-13-2012, 12:10 AM
I forgot what gun it boinged from, but I spent a goodly amount of time on hands and knees with a flashlight (turned the lights out) looking for that small spring. I knew I could get another one from the gunsmith, but that wasn't the point, so I looked some more. Finally, I gave up and was about to sit back down on my reloading stool, and there it was.

Found a lot of spent primers, too.

10x
03-13-2012, 08:28 AM