PDA

View Full Version : lyman handles

happyhunter
03-11-2012, 09:47 PM
Newbie here,
bought my first mold of fleabay the other day. A Lyman 2 cavity 358477. I am looking for handles for it and I see some are "short" and some are "long"? What is the difference? What do I need for my 2 cavity? I know the 4 cavity handles have the pivot out in front of the mold and the 2 cavity has the pivot between the mold and handles. How does long and short come into it?

Thanks,
HH

MBTcustom
03-11-2012, 10:53 PM
I have used both.
It just depends on what you like. I like the short ones sometimes because they are easy on hand fatigue, but they get too hot lots of times. I like the long handles because they run cooler but I get tired quicker.
To be honest, if I were in your position, I would buy the cheap Lee handles and modify them to fit the Lyman mold by grinding them down to 1/4" from the 5/16" they come as. No problem. $12 beats $50 all day long no matter what you have to do the grinding with.

Wolfer
03-11-2012, 10:58 PM
2nd what goodsteel said, you can dress a set of lees down pretty quick. I have both and one is just as good as the other.

220swiftfn
03-11-2012, 11:47 PM
The difference is the length of the jaw. The short handles are for single cavity molds, for a two cavity mold you need the long handles (also for single cavity cut on the dual size block, ie; .45/70 molds).

Dan

ku4hx
03-12-2012, 10:04 AM
Newbie here,
bought my first mold of fleabay the other day. A Lyman 2 cavity 358477. I am looking for handles for it and I see some are "short" and some are "long"? What is the difference? What do I need for my 2 cavity? I know the 4 cavity handles have the pivot out in front of the mold and the 2 cavity has the pivot between the mold and handles. How does long and short come into it?

Thanks,
HH