PDA

View Full Version : 45/70 crimp question...

sharpshooter81
03-06-2012, 09:53 PM
Got my new Lee mold a few days ago.....459-405gr-HB....I have cast a few hundred rounds with it and only had a dozen or so rejects,...mold seems to work perfect!....Question is....the cast boolit has no crimp cannelure....I do however have a Lee Factory Crimp Die for the 45/70...the instructions say that no crimp cannelure is necessary because the LFCD cuts its own cannelure....Can this crimp be used on this boolit and be trusted? ....ALSO....I havent loaded any 45/70 rounds yet I do not know what powder or load I am going to use (just so you know).

:CastBoolitsisbest:

williamwaco
03-06-2012, 10:07 PM
I have NO experience with the .45-70.

I have used the Lee Factory Crimp die with the .38-55 and the .30-30 and have not had good results with it.

It WILL press the mouth of the case into the body of the bullet making a "crimp ring".

If you are loading for a rifle with a tubular magazine, I expect you will need a pretty solid crimp.

If you are loading for a single shot, I would apply a light crimp with the seating die.

The .38-55 is virtually identical to the .45-70. Just smaller. I have used the seating die, the LFC die and the resizing die to crimp.

Accuracy results from worst to best are:

No crimp.
Lee Factory Crimp
RCBS Cowboy seating die.
RCBS Cowboy resizing die.

My current best accuracy load is crimped by running the loaded, uncrimped, cartridge back into the resizing die just far enough for the mouth of the case to be tapered into the body of the bullet to about one half the thickness of the case mouth. You can still hang your fingernail on the mouth of the case but it is indented into the body of the bullet.

stubshaft
03-06-2012, 10:16 PM
The Lee FCD will resize your boolit in the case. You can apply a slight roll crimp ahead of the front ring on the boolit.

Rico1950
03-06-2012, 11:43 PM