PDA

View Full Version : Crimp 44 mag?

Ruckmanite
03-06-2012, 11:17 AM
I am new to casting,and I have a Ruger Blackhawk 44 mag and I have the lee 240 grain mold. I was wondering if I should factory crimp when I sea these? Any thouvhts? I dont have the factory crimp die, buti guess I can get it.

03-06-2012, 11:41 AM
Caveat emptor.

Read the numerous threads pertaining to the Lee Carbide Factory Crimp Die -- lots of interesting comments.

Also, read Lee's description of why they make the die and how it works.

Jim Flinchbaugh
03-06-2012, 12:13 PM
If yer shootin light plinker loads, I dont crimp, Heavy loads yes, other wise the boolits have a way of escaping the brass while your firing, then the cylinder wont rotate no more

Larry Gibson
03-06-2012, 12:13 PM
I believe Lee's regular seater for pistol cartridges still roll crimp?

Read the instructions on how to set the seating die to roll crimp into the crimp groove. Many of us prefer to crimp as a seperate operation from seating the bullet. However, I do roll crimp when seating with many handgun cast bullets if the crimp broove is largee enough that lead is not shaved off the side of the bullet when done.

With my .44 SPL and Magnum loads I use a mild roll crimp with loads up to 1100 fps with faster burning owders like Bullseye - Unique burning range. I use a heavy roll crimp =P loads with soft alloys and with magnum and loads with slower burning powders of Blue Dot through H110/296.

Larry Gibson

bobthenailer
03-06-2012, 12:24 PM
I have 3 different crimp dies for the 44 mag . that way my crimps are allways the same
Taper crimp-- for loads up to 1000 fps
Med roll crimp-- up to 1200 fps
Redding pro crimp for loads over 1200 fps
The lee factory crimp die is not recomended for cast bullets only jacketed

ku4hx
03-06-2012, 01:05 PM