PDA

View Full Version : 9mm hard to cast?

BobMac51
03-05-2012, 05:57 PM
Hope some of you guys can help...I have heard that casting 9mm can be a real challenge. I'm new to casting so any help you guys can offer in terms of tricks of the trade would be a real help. Thanks.

Mc

Jailer
03-05-2012, 05:58 PM
Casting is the same as any other round, it's getting it working in your gun without leading that can be the tricky part.

SlowSmokeN
03-05-2012, 06:19 PM
Last week I shoot my first boolits out of my 9mm. 200 shots and had just a little leading. It took under 5 min to clean it out. I am using straight range lead air cooled sized to .356 with Recluse lube.

The reason I believe I got a little leading is because I am using to little powder causing the boolit to skid. I was using the bare minimum. I have loaded 300 rounds for tonight using a higher charge. I will let you know it it works.

It seems like 9mm is really easy to cast you just have to work out the bugs like you would any other round.

plainsman456
03-05-2012, 06:31 PM
No trick really.Just make sure your mold and lead are up to temperature before casting keepers.
Welcome by the way.

captaint
03-05-2012, 06:34 PM
Bob, If we compare the 9mm to, say, 45ACP, it is more involved to achieve good results. Or maybe I should say that the 9mm is just not as forgiving as the 45ACP. The 45 is low pressure, low velocity. The 9mm, on the other hand is higher pressure, higher velocity. With these factors, we can get away with fewer mistakes, that's all. Also, boolit diameter and lubrication are more important that harder lead. Try to remember that. enjoy Mike

GRUMPA
03-05-2012, 07:08 PM
As others have already said casting them really isn't any different than most anything else. The issue lies after that, size, lube and loading techniques. Make sure you slug the bore of what your using and go at least .001 larger than bore diameter, some folks here report excellent results with a boolit that's .002 over bore diameter.