PDA

View Full Version : Hello Guys!

JDeere7296
02-20-2012, 11:46 AM
Hello All, just wanted to introduce myself. I've been reloading for several years now and want to get into casting. Mainly for 45 and 9mm, but I have a .50 Beowulf I would like to cast for. I haven't gotten started yet, I want to read and learn as much as I can before I jump into it.

I've read where lead can foul the gas ports, is this true? Are there any who run cast bullets in a semi-auto gun?

Just wondering before I went and bought the mold. Thanks for the info in advance and look forward to learning something new!

Andy

beagle
02-20-2012, 11:50 AM
Andy, welcom to the forum. I'm sure you'll find someone here who is either doing what you're interested in, has done it.....or wants to.

It's a good group and we're the cutting edge of the casting technology.

We're doing the things now that go in the books later.

Come on in and enjoy./beagle

JDeere7296
02-20-2012, 11:59 AM
Thanks Beagle! I've already learned alot just reading posts on here. I've always been intrigued by casting. When I was younger, i'm talking 9 or 10 I wanted to make some trotline weights and didnt' have the money to buy them. I found some old wheel weights and old fishing bullet weights.

I used the bottom of coke cans and used a torch to melt the weights into them and put a sturdy treble hook in the middle before it cooled and made my own weights. :-)

It's a wonder I didn't get burned....LOL....but ever since I've wanted to cast my own bullets.

rockrat
02-20-2012, 11:59 AM
I shoot cast in my 50 beowulf. The issue of lead in the gas tube is well overblown by those that really don't have a clue. You will get a bit, and after many rounds you might have to take one of those pipe cleaner things down the warm gas tube and clean it. Use a gas check bullet and get ahold of "Blammer" here to inquire about some "gator checks" for the design you choose.