PDA

View Full Version : Yellow Crust Covered Pot of Alloy

PoorlyCast
02-15-2012, 12:42 AM
Tonight was my first night to cast boolits as I am brand new to the casting hobby. I am using a Lee Production Pot and Lee C457-405-F mold. My alloy is Lyman #2 made out of 9lb of WW and 1lb 50/50 solder. I spent most of my time finding the correct temp. Lots of wrinkled bullets and a range of frosted with good fill out. At the beginning I wasn't paying enough attention to my heat setting after initial melt of alloy and it was set to max. The alloy was glowing red and had lots of sandy looking crust on top of it. This never went away. I turned the heat down to the setting of four; which means nothing, and it still stayed on top. Although the flow through the valve was smooth and filled the mold. After finishing I left the pot half full and let it cool. It is still on top and is the color of mustard seed. All of my equipment is new and my Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook (3rd edition) doesn't mention this color of crud. What is this and what do I do to remedy this?

stubshaft
02-15-2012, 12:45 AM
Did you try to flux it and see if it would assimilate back into the melt?

PoorlyCast
02-15-2012, 12:49 AM
Stubshaft, yes I did once using gulf wax ball after initial melt and then after all this started to come to the surface, but it stayed on top. I was leery to remove it as I felt it may be alloy that needed to be in the mix and was possibly what I paid $9 a pound for in my 50/50 solder.

PoorlyCast
02-15-2012, 12:52 AM
When I was cleaning the bucket of WW I used a stainless steel pot and single burner in the garage. That set up gave me the ability to melt the WW down and flux them until clean enough to pour into ingots. But this setup was incapable of the heat that I saw my Production Pot generate this evening.

geargnasher
02-15-2012, 12:55 AM