PDA

View Full Version : need some Master Caster tips from the masters of the casters!

Sundogg1911
03-14-2007, 12:09 PM
I got my used Master Caster yesterday (Thanks Little Willy!) It works great! I've been like a kid waiting for Santa Claus! I just plugged it in to make sure everything worked after UPS beat up the box for a few days, and I was dropping some nice boolits in no time :)
The one think I don't like in the design is that the cast boolits drop into the middle of the machine frame. I'm sure I could rig something if I want to cut a hole in my work bench, and have them drop into a box or tray, but i'd rather not. Or I could make some kind of frame to get it up a few inches above the top of my bench, which would make it rough to flux, since I have a range hood mounted above the bench. How are you Guys doing it? :roll:

B747
03-14-2007, 12:38 PM
I mounted mine to the bench with just the rear 4 bolts and let the cutout extend out beyond the bench.
Most of the weight, ( the pot ) is towards the rear.

Then just build up somthing under the cutout to hold a padded box to catch the bullets --- your wifes end table will work well here.

Wally

Sundogg1911
03-14-2007, 12:47 PM
B747,
That's kind of how I thought people are using them. Since my Wife will be using the Master Caster for Her Boolits (Yes....She's casts Her own too) I don't think i'll get away with the end table. ;-)

03-14-2007, 04:40 PM
sundoggy let us know what type of molds you are using and how you like it as to hand casting. i thought the bullet droped in one continer and the spur in another. thanks

Sundogg1911
03-14-2007, 06:27 PM