PDA

View Full Version : Much lead in your range ?

Anthony333
02-06-2012, 07:34 AM
Hi people,

I am fairly new to casting Boolits. and i have been getting range lead at my local... just wondering how much lead is at your range, as mine seems to have LOTS !
Or at least i assume it is lots, i am digging about 15 litres of bullets per hour ( 99.9 % lead) no jackets are allowed at my range .. and i think that is around 37 kilos ? per hour by shovel, wire screen and hand picking the good ones out :-) .. i just find the sweet spot behind the service targets... Its dirty dusty and somewhat peacefull all at the same time .. semi rural area ..
I know there are about 3 others who cast at my club, but most guys just keep filling up my supply ... apparently one member had sent 30,000 projies of to get coated for his daughters IPSC habit :-) ( nice man hey ) and he digs all day for them !
I do believe he has a swager as well though ... so maybee he just casts the led rods ... either way, i think we can open a lead mine soon :-)

I am starting to hoard , as the going is good at the moment :-)
I do feel a little greedy tho...should i ?
Might evem sell the members their bullets back when i start to cast good ... the lead will be free, but the casting service i will charge for ... [smilie=w:

We pay around $50 AUSSIE average for a box of 500 .358 148 swc or .356 9 mm 125 grainers... so i will be saving A FORTUNE :-)
Plus, these hard cast boolits are a bit hit n miss with their alloys too so it would seem... :cry:

Sasquatch-1
02-06-2012, 07:43 AM
The ranges I have belong to (only 2 in the last 30 years, both Izaac Walton League chapters) try to discourage mining as they believe it undermines the backstop.

Jal5
02-06-2012, 08:20 AM
We have a lot on our berms too. No mining allowed but I just pick them up off the berm, its slow but it keeps me supplied in lead. Joe

mpmarty
02-06-2012, 03:47 PM
Our club mines the berms and indoor range too. The club sells the lead to a recycler.