PDA

View Full Version : Help with 7.62x39 test boolits

rictshaw
01-30-2012, 01:35 PM
Hello,

I've been reloading for a couple of years, but have not gotten into casting yet (mainly because my wife would kill me if I got involved in yet another hobby!).

Anyway, I have several mil-surp rifles (an SKS and a Hakim) that have been frustrating because of their poor accuracy with commercial ammo. After reading about other shooters who have been getting much better groups with cast boolits, I decided to finally "slug" the barrels of these rifles, and came up with the following numbers:

SKS: .314 bore
Hakim: .326 bore

Which is probably why the commercial ammo (.310 and .323 respectively) isn't doing so well.

I've checked several commercial cast bullet sources online, and they don't have any bullets in these larger diameters.

So, I'm wondering if anyone here does any casting of bullets in the .314 or .326 diameter, that might be willing to send me a few for testing...?

Recluse
01-30-2012, 04:18 PM
After reading about other shooters who have been getting much better groups with cast boolits, I decided to finally "slug" the barrels of these rifles, and came up with the following numbers:

SKS: .314 bore
Hakim: .326 bore

Seems a little big for the SKS (don't know anything about the Hakim)

I cast a 155 grain 2r (spire point) gas-checked boolit and size it to .312 for my Chinese SKS. 11 grains of Blue Dot and it makes one big ragged hole at 50 yards with iron sights (on a sand bag).

Best of all, the low Blue Dot charge doesn't cycle the bolt, so it's like a bolt-action gun--which saves me from having to chase brass all over the place.

:coffee:

rictshaw
01-30-2012, 05:11 PM
Yes, both are a little large compared to "standard" commercial loaded ammo, commercial jacketed bullets, and commercial cast bullets, which is why I'm looking for someone who casts or resizes to that diameter.